Distant Correspondent debut album due October 22nd

Sep 11

We're happy to announce the release of Distant Correspondent's debut album, due October 22nd on Hot Congress Records/Old Flame Records!!!

It started in secret. Distant Correspondent was not a band, but one person: David Obuchowski, guitar player/singer for critically acclaimed metal band, Goes Cube. Obuchowski had moved from New York to Colorado, and decided to give a name to the non-metal songs he was writing and recording in his basement. With 2000 miles between him and his old home, he sent them to his friends back in New York under the name "Distant Correspondent."

Everything changed when he met Michael Lengel in Denver. A multi-instrumentalist, Lengel had been recording his own music for years, but never released the songs publicly. With no discussion of what it should sound like, what genre it should be, they collaborated; working separately, Obuchowski handled all guitar and vocal parts, and Lengel covered all of the drums and bass parts. "I thought I would have a somewhat shapeless and atmospheric song, and then Michael would totally transform it into a tight, driving, and dynamic song," Obuchowski recalls when they first started writing together. The pair quickly recorded well over an album's worth of music in a matter of a few short months.

With these songs, David reached out to a mysterious woman whose music he'd been listening to obsessively for the last dozen years, but who he'd never met, and knew nothing about: Emily Gray, the vocalist of John Peel-mainstays, Meanwhile Back In Communist Russia. After finally reaching her and sending her the music, she agreed to join the fold, and lend her haunting and moving monologues to the music, all the way from Oxford, UK.

The lineup in place, the band set to work on writing more songs for a proper album. For this, they tapped influential Drag City solo artist, Edith Frost, who became a significant contributor, and took on the role as lead vocalist alongside David Obuchowski, singing on songs the band had previously completed, and helping to create new ones.

With the songs complete, Distant Correspondent would quickly cease to be a secret: Maura Magazine wrote about the band and premiered the song "Merge," calling it "moody, pulsing" and a "a lovely showcase for the vocal interplay between Obuchowski and Frost." A music video for their song "Summit" was premiered on Vice's NOISEY, where they said award-winning director, Heather Crank, "took the band’s sorrowful four and a half minutes of aching wistfulness and turned it into a gorgeous desert Noir film." A third song, "Listen," was then premiered by Aquarium Drunkard who described the song as "a wintery delight." And while the band had yet to play a show, the premiere live music website Oh My Rockness profiled the band, saying they "makes sparse, well-crafted dream-ish pop that slowly taps and swirls its way toward melodies of the haunting sublime."

Following the warm critical reception, Distant Correspondent signed to Denver-based indie upstart Hot Congress Records who is co-releasing the band's first full-length (digital and vinyl formats) with the established NYC indie, Old Flame Records (Dead Confederate, Cloud Nothings, Twin Tigers, and more). Word had also spread to the UK, and the Manchester-based indie Static Caravan Recordings (Tuung, Hannah Peel, Laura Martin, and others) will be releasing a limited-edition 7" single for their song "Shatter," a gorgeous, and brooding track that shows Frost at her vocal best, and the full impact of Emily Gray's powerful narration.

Bassist Tyler Wilcox was officially added, and the band will be playing the Denver area this summer, then touring in support of the album this coming fall.

"Distant Correspondent" Track List:
1. Listen
2. Forward
3. Cyclone
4. Say
5. Summit
6. Merge
7. Clay
8. Department
9. Shatter

Watch the video for "Summit" exclusively @ Vice's Noisey.com here!

David Obuchowski: Guitar, vocals
Emily Gray: Vocals
Michael Lengel: Drums, bass (on recordings)
Tyler Wilcox: Bass (added post-recording)

Featured guest...
Edith Frost: vocals, keyboards, SoundPrism